Take a family adventure through time at the Jekyll Island Museum.
The Jekyll Island Museum protects and displays the cultural resources of the island. Families can explore the lives of millionaires past, the native American presence on Jekyll Island, or its history of French privateers.
The Museum makes its home in the old Stable Building. It exhibits more than 7,000 photographs that depict the island’s unique cultural heritage.
Visitors can examine artifacts from the Jekyll Island Club Era and archaeological research conducted on the area's Native American and Colonial past.
There's also a gift shop full of reproduction memorabilia and island souvenirs.
Families can book tours of the island and the Historic District. The Museum runs their Passport to the Century tours, which are 90 minutes long. These are narrated tram tours that depart every day at 11:00 am, 1:00 pm and 3:00 pm. As of this writing, rates are: $16.00 for adults, $7.00 for children 6-12 years of age, and free under 6 years of age. Tours leave from the Stable Building. As always, give them a call at (912)635-4036 for current pricing.
The Museum oversees 3 Historic Sites - the Jekyll Island Club National Historic Landmark District, the Horton House ruins, and the Wanderer Memorial.
Explore the past through exhibitions featuring photos and period belongings as well as by venturing into the historic sites.
The Historic District -
The Historic District covers 240 acres fronting the Intra-coastal Waterway. Though many of the "cottages" and out-buildings from the gilded past have been restored, others are in the process or awaiting the loving touch of the preservationists. The Historic District restoration is one of the largest continuing restoration projects in the Southeast.
Follow Riverview Drive north from the Historic District to the Horton House Ruins. It was built my James Oglethorpe's right-hand-man, William Horton.
The Spanish destroyed the original house after the battle of Bloody Marsh, and it was rebuilt in 1742. Christophe Poulain du Bignon moved his family into the house in the 1790's after escaping the French Revolution.
The house was two-stories, made from tabby, an indigenous coastal building material.
Also on the Horton House site - the ruins of a brewery (the oldest in Georgia), built by Horton to supply ale to the colonists and soldiers stationed at Fort Frederica. And a cemetery.
Situated in St. Andrews Picnic Area is the Wanderer exhibit. The Wanderer was one of the last slave ships to bring a cargo to the shores of the U.S. The memorial is to those who suffered on that ship and afterward.
The Jekyll Island Museum is open every day from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm except for Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and New Years Day. They also put on several special exhibitions, like Folklore, Rumor and Myth, and The Holidays in History.
Contact Shirley Martin at (912)635-4036 for more info on special exhibitions and group tour rates.